Summer 2022

View this email in your browser
Ukrainian Lunches
A little more than half a million refugees have come into Hungary from Ukraine, many of them landing in Budapest. Almost all of them are women and children. The size of the crisis is such that there are many organizations set up to serve them. With all the transitions happening at Riverside right now, instead of trying to do our own thing, we’re partnering with other organizations to help. One opportunity that has opened to us is through YWAM Budapest. They’re hosting a weekly lunch and free “boutique” for those coming from Ukraine to shop at that serves more than 100 people weekly. I had the privilege of helping out a few times and it was such a humbling experience to see mothers, grandmothers, wives, and children, who have all been displaced from their homes. I got to be the hands and feet of Jesus by serving french fries, washing dishes, and running to the store. Ministry isn’t always flashy, often it is grabbing a drying rag and making sure the plates are clean and ready to serve the next person who needs a warm lunch.

 
Budapest Adventure Challenge
The Budapest Adventure Challenge is an event I started with a friend a few months into my time in Budapest. It started as a young adults’ activity and now I run it once in the spring and once in the fall for anyone who’d like to join. People are given a list of tasks to complete and things to take pictures of and put on teams to run around for an hour or two taking pictures and hopefully seeing some new sights. The most recent one was on Budapest Castle Hill and it was such a fun time, we even had a new family and a new university student join us! These kinds of events are so important for getting people connected to the community and helping them feel at home during their time in Budapest. 

Europe Together
Once every three years, all the global workers across Europe get together for a retreat. This was the second time I was able to go and it was a great opportunity to get connected and to hear some stories of the work that God is doing across Europe. We had opportunities to pray and worship together and to take a short break from the hustle and bustle of ministry life. 


Other Ministry Fun

Church Picnic: In May we had a church picnic with a fantastic turnout. We had perfect weather and more than 50 people joined us for an afternoon of eating and spending time together. 
Ladies’ Breakfast: It had been a few months since we were able to have Ladies’ breakfast, but we had a lovely time eating together with some of the Riverside ladies.

Emails & Graphics
A huge part of the work that I do includes sending emails and designing graphics. If you’d like to see the weekly email announcements I send out you can check them out here or head over to Riverside’s Facebook or Instagram. In there, you can find just a few of the graphics I’ve done recently. Sending emails and posting on social media isn’t always the most exciting thing to talk about but it is a huge part of the ministry I do in Hungary. I get to be the person who helps people get connected. 

Pro-tip for my self-taught communications people like me: canva.com is a fantastic, free resource for building graphics. Also, if you/your ministry needs any tips on where to get started, feel free to reach out. It’s always fun to share a little of what I’ve learned along the way. 
Prayer Requests
I have a new ministry opportunity I’m excited about. I’m putting the final details on before testing over the summer. I’m excited to tell you more about it soon, but until then please pray for wisdom & creativity that this would serve the right people. 
The war in Ukraine continues and the refugees are still getting settled across Europe. Please continue to pray for peace in Ukraine and wisdom, as we navigate how best to partner with the organizations here in Budapest serving the refugees. 
I could personally use some prayer for wisdom and guidance from the Lord.

I am so thankful for all of you for your prayers, they are a huge, important part of the work that I get to do here. 

Give Now



Leave a comment